A Cadw treasure near Pembroke.
Not far from Pembroke, in the pretty village of Lamphey in Pembrokeshire, the listed ruins of the Lamphey Bishop’s Palace are a beautiful place to visit. A scheduled ancient monument since 1970, the palace remains are set in beautiful gardens and parking is nearby under a grove of trees. Within easy walking distance of the railway station, and near bus routes, the palace is easily accessible. The visitor centre is now closed, but entry is by the side gate and there are no charges. Dogs are welcome on leads and it is enclosed by walls, so ideal for children to explore and learn.
Information boards tell the story of the palace and indicate how it looked in its days of glory. In its heyday the palace was a luxurious retreat for Welsh bishops and incorporated fishponds, orchards, fruit gardens and parklands grazed by deer. Most of the remains date from the time of Bishop Henry de Gower in between 1328 and 1347. The grand hall extended to 25 metres and the palace was a grand place for bishops to take a break from the affairs of church and state. There is sufficient left to give a good impression of the extent of the buildings complex.
Damaged during the civil war, the palace has not been occupied and was used by local farmers for some centuries, but is now preserved for all to enjoy.